Agbakoba, Utomi, Ezekwesili, others create new political party



Miffed at the myriad of life and death challenges bedeviling the nation with no possible end in sight, no fewer than 30 prominent political activists, academicians and professionals have formed a new political party called the National Consultative Front (NCF).


A communique issued by the new group’s national secretariat in Abuja on Wednesday noted that “after a month-long nationwide consultation” and virtual meetings, the NCF was born to embark on immediate mass mobilization of Nigerians towards a citizens-driven and process-led new peoples’ constitution for a new Nigeria that can work for all.


The NCF also berated the Buhari administration for the rising insecurity, most notably the endless massacre and kidnappings in the Northern regions and many other parts of the country by armed robbers and Boko Haram insurgents, who continue to inflict terror and mayhem on helpless citizens with impunity and reckless abandon.


Part of the resolutions adopted after the meeting read in part, “A new ideological mass movement shall be initiated to embark on an immediate mass mobilization in the nooks and crannies of the country for popular mass action towards political constitution reforms that is citizens-driven and process-led in engendering a new peoples’ constitution for a new Nigeria that can work for all.


“To this end, we decry in categorical terms, the ongoing mindless massacre and kidnappings in the North-West, North-East, Southern Kaduna, the Middle Belt, Southern part of Nigeria and in fact the country at large by bandits and insurgents, who invade our communities, especially at night to inflict terror and murder on hapless residents and unsuspecting indigenes.


“We hereby call on those presently in charge of our federal government, military and security apparatus to immediately wake up and do everything to stop the ongoing senseless pogrom against the masses of our people,” the communique noted.


Among members of the 30-member steering committee for the NCF are former House Speaker, Hon. Ghali Na’abba; former Deputy CBN Governor, Dr. Obadiah Mailafia, Femi Falana (SAN), Col. Abubakar Umar (rtd.), Dr. Obigeli Ezekwesili, Prof. Jibo Ibrahim, Yabagi Sanni, Isa Aremu, Prof. Chidi Odinkalu and Sen Shehu Sanni, Olisa Agbakoba (SAN), Alhaji Shettima Yerima and Lady Funke Awolowo. Others are Dr. Kemi George, Dan Nwanyanwu, Dr. Osagie Obayuawana, Mallam, Prof Remi Sonaya, Mallam Tanko Yinusa and Ogbeni Lanre Banjo.